Committees

Conservation Committee

Headline Purpose

Chaired by Brian Quinn, the committee’s purpose is to promote the conservation of the built heritage in Northern Ireland by enhancing the conservation knowledge and skills of architects and others.

How will this purpose be achieved

  • Engage with the Historic Environment Division of the Department for Communities, other Government bodies and Local Councils.
  • Prepare RSUA’s response to relevant consultations
  • Develop RSUA position papers on policies impacting Northern Ireland’s built heritage
  • Provide a collective expert view on conservation matters when called upon
  • Co-ordinate RSUA’s input to European Heritage Open Days
  • Engage and co-ordinate with other bodies in Northern Ireland and beyond who seek to promote the conservation of our built heritage
  • Propose opportunities for learning, particularly for architects and university students. For example, topics and expert speakers for training events, resources for architects and building tours.
  • Review the RSUA’s Conservation Courses and the route for further recognition of conservation expertise

Public benefit

The better conservation of our built heritage will deliver economic, social and cultural benefits to the public and enhance the sustainability of our built environment.

Committee membership and contact details

Conservation Committee Chair, Brian Quinn brian.quinn@eani.org.uk

NameOrganisationEmail Address
Jonathan BairdConstruction Procurement Deliveryjonathan.baird@finance-ni.gov.uk
Johnny BoothIrish Stonejohnny@irishstone.com
Conall DohertyDesign IDConall.doherty@designid.co.uk
Jason DonaldsonChoice Housingjason.donaldson@choice-housing.org
Keith GilmourGilmour Architectskeith@gilmour-architects.com
Nicola Golden Department for Communities
Michael HerronMHA Architectsmichael@mha-architects.co.uk
Ryan HoodHBK Architectsryan.hood@hbkarchitects.com
Robert ListerAlastair Coey Architectsrobert.lister@alastaircoeyarchitects.com
Mark McCulloughMcCullough Totten Architectsmark@mcculloughtotten.com
Jonathan McMillanIsherwood & Ellis ArchitectsJ.McMillan@isherwood-ellis.com
Paul MonganGregory Architectspaulmongan@gregoryarchitects.com
Jim MulhollandTODD Architectsjim.mulholland@toddarch.co.uk
Marcus PattonHearth NImarcus@operahat.co.uk
Roger PerrottC60 Designroger.perrott@c60design.co.uk
Brian QuinnEducation Authoritybrian.quinn@eani.org.uk
Susan RaffteryPovall Worthingtonsusan@pwmail.co.uk
Alan Rossalan@ballyhackett.com
Colin ShawWDR & RT Taggartcolin.shaw@wdr-rt-taggart.com
Geoff Sloangfs_52@hotmail.co.uk
Hana StolcovaWhittaker & Watt Architectshstolcova@wwarch.co.uk
Stephen DouglasHall Black Douglas Architectsstephendouglas@hallblackdouglas.co.uk

Meeting frequency/pre-arranged dates

This committee will meet quarterly, from 1pm until 2pm on the following dates:

  • 1pm on Wednesday 29 September 2021
  • 1pm on Wednesday 24 November 2021
  • 1pm on Wednesday 9 February 2022
  • 1pm on Wednesday 22 June 2022
  • 1pm on Wednesday 28 September 2022
  • 1pm on Wednesday 23 November 2022

Involvement:

RSUA members who are interested in joining this committee should contact Jude Faloon jude@rsua.org.uk

Find out More

Read some of the most up to date and relevant news articles relating to the Conservation Committee by clicking the links below

RSUA Conservation Committee update 20 November 2019

RSUA Conservation Committee update 17 June 2020

RSUA Conservation Committee update 17 September 2020

RSUA Conservation Committee update 10 February 2021