Committees

Conservation Committee

Headline Purpose

Chaired by Brian Quinn, the committee’s purpose is to promote the conservation of the built heritage in Northern Ireland by enhancing the conservation knowledge and skills of architects and others.

How will this purpose be achieved

  • Engage with the Historic Environment Division of the Department for Communities, other Government bodies and Local Councils.
  • Prepare RSUA’s response to relevant consultations
  • Develop RSUA position papers on policies impacting Northern Ireland’s built heritage
  • Provide a collective expert view on conservation matters when called upon
  • Co-ordinate RSUA’s input to European Heritage Open Days
  • Engage and co-ordinate with other bodies in Northern Ireland and beyond who seek to promote the conservation of our built heritage
  • Propose opportunities for learning, particularly for architects and university students. For example, topics and expert speakers for training events, resources for architects and building tours.
  • Review the RSUA’s Conservation Courses and the route for further recognition of conservation expertise

Public benefit

The better conservation of our built heritage will deliver economic, social and cultural benefits to the public and enhance the sustainability of our built environment.

Committee membership and contact details

Conservation Committee Chair Brian Quinn brian.quinn@eani.org.uk

NameOrganisationEmail Address
Brian QuinnEducation Authoritybrian.quinn@eani.org.uk
Jonathan BairdCentral Procurement Directoratejonathan.baird@finance-ni.gov.uk
Johnny BoothIrish Stonejohnny@irishstone.com
Jason DonaldsonChoice Housingjason.donaldson@choice-housing.org
Keith GilmourGilmour Architectskeith@gilmour-architects.com
Nicola Golden Department for Communities
Nicholas Grove-RainesGroves Raines Architects Edinburghpractice@grovesraines.com
Michael HerronMHA Architectsmichael@mha-architects.co.uk
Ryan HoodHamilton Architectshood_ryan@hotmail.com
Alastair MacNabAlastair MacNab Architectsa.macnab@am-arch.co.uk
Keith McAllisterQueen’s University Belfastk.mcallister@qub.ac.uk
Mark McCulloughMcCullough Tottenmark@mcculloughtotten.com
Jonathan McMillanIsherwood & EllisJ.McMillan@isherwood-ellis.com
Paul MonganGregory Architectspaulmongan@gregoryarchitects.com
Jim MulhollandTODD Architectsjim.mulholland@toddarch.co.uk
Marcus PattonHearth NImp.hearth@virgin.net
Peter RobinsonAlastair Coey Architectspeter.robinson@alastaircoeyarchitects.com
Colin ShawWDR & RT Taggartcolin.shaw@wdr-rt-taggart.com
Geoff Sloangfs_52@hotmail.co.uk

Meeting frequency/pre-arranged dates

  • 1pm on Thursday 17 September 2020
  • 1pm on Wednesday 25 November 2020
  • 1pm on Wednesday 10 February 2021
  • 1pm on Wednesday 30 June 2021
  • 1pm on Wednesday 29 September 2021

Involvement:

RSUA members who are interested in joining this committee should contact Jude Faloon jude@rsua.org.uk

Find out More

Read the most up to date and relevant news articles relating to the Conservation Committee here

RSUA Conservation Committee update 20 November 2019