All-Ireland Architecture Research Group 2021 Conference

The All-Ireland Architecture Research Group is hosting its 10th annual conference virtually this year on the theme of “Sharing Ground: Propinquity” on Thursday 21 January and Friday 22 January 2021. You can register for the conference here and delegates are £25 with a concession rate for students of £5.

Please note that all delegates must register through the Ulster University Online Store in order to attend the conference and in order for their paper to be eligible for selection for publication in the journal Building Material. Registration includes an electronic issue of a book of the conference abstracts.

The conference details:

All conference times are GMT

Thursday 21st January 2021 Keynote speaker: Joan Copjec 6.30pm – 7.30pm
Friday 22nd January 2021 Welcome and conference introduction 9.30am – 10.30am 
Panel 1 – Politics, Policy and Agency 1 10.30am –12.30pm 
Panel 2 – Climate Change 10.30am – 12.30pm
Lunch break                           12.30pm – 1.30pm 
Panel 3 – Politics, Policy and Agency 2 1.30pm – 3.30pm
Panel 4 – Materials, Means and Media 1.30pm – 3.30pm
Panel 5 – Education as Environment 3.30pm – 5.30pm
Conference close5.30pm – 6.00pm

Panel 1

Policy, Politics and Agency 1

Chair: Emmett Scanlon

1 Alessandra Como + Luisa Smeragliuolo Perrotta (Salerno, Italy), Porocity: the rediscovery of porosity as a character of the architecture of the city

2 Dr Saul Golden, Kieran Carlin + Professor Gerry Leavey (Belfast, Ireland), Urban universities as catalysts for regeneration strategies to benefit communities

3 Miriam Fitzpatrick (Dublin, Ireland), Propinquity and the Social Life of the City

4 Dr Gul Kacmaz Erk (Belfast, Ireland), Active Urbanism: clubbing in Berlin’s adapted buildings

5 Colm O’Brien (Cork, Ireland), Public Space and the Elderly

Panel 2

Climate Change

Chair: Professor Aoife Houlihan Wiberg

1 Anup Kumar Prasad (Bengaluru, India), Crucial factors influencing climate change: alternative dimension

2 Federica Appendino + Janet Hetman (Paris, France), Eco-neighbourhood in an historical city

3 Helena Fitzgerald (Limerick, Ireland), CityXchange: infrastructure for innovation

4 Martin Murray (Belfast, Ireland), Remaking our rural towns through energy conservation

5 Rebecca McConnell (Belfast, Ireland), untitled – ‘A Wicked Problem

6 Shane Colclough (Dublin, Belfast, Ireland), Investment into Irish low-energy social housing retrofit


Panel 3

Policy, Politics and Agency 2

Chair: Dr David Coyles

1 Dr Ayoola + Amira Osman Akure, Nigeria + Pretoria, South Africa), Spatial Dimensions of Poverty in residential neighbourhoods

2 Gareth Brennan (Dublin, Ireland), Marino

3 Jack Lehane (Cork, Ireland), Towards post-occupancy applications for international participant based live projects

4 Shane Sugrue (Cambridge, England), Speculating on the New World City: from coercion to curation in Brisbane’s West Village

5 Weiqi Chu (Ohio, U.S.), Discover the Power of Government: Capital Model Prison

6 Tebogo Ramatlo + Dr Alona Martinez Perez (Johannesburg, S Africa), Periphery

Panel 4

Materials, Means and Media

Chair: Professor Paul Clarke 

1 Jake Malone (Dublin, Ireland), The Rudimentary Wall

2 Mark Shiel (London), RTÉ television centre in the organisational complex in 1960s Dublin

3 Patrick Brennan (Dublin, Ireland), Br1cks and M0rtar

4 Ryan Johnston (Belfast, Ireland), Digital Twins

5 Sarah Mannion (Dublin, Ireland), untitled ‘Interpreting Ground

Panel 5

Education as Environment 

Chair: Dr Martina Murphy 

1 Courtney McIlkenny + Dr M Murphy (Belfast, Ireland), The Vertical Studio: reimagining propinquity

2 Hirbod Norouzianpour (New Mexico, U.S.), Integrating Service-Learning Method into the curriculum of U.S. Architecture Schools

3 Saiful Fazli Ramli +Dr Ibrahim Motawa (Glasgow, Scotland), HBIM Preventive Conservation Framework for historic timber buildings in Malaysia 

4 Sarah Mulrooney + (Cork, Ireland), Making Design POP

5 Dougal Sheridan + Deirdre McMenamin (Berlin, Germany), Reflections on collaborative configurations

6 Dr Silpa Singarajwarapan + Dr Ibrahim Motawa (Glasgow), BIM-based Building Code Compliance Systems