RSUA Design Awards 2016: Call for Entries

Architects across Northern Ireland are currently invited to enter the RSUA Design Awards 2016. The primary purpose of the RSUA Design Awards is to promote excellence in the design of our built environment with the view to making Northern Ireland a better place to be.

New award categories

There are new award categories this year to help more accurately reflect the breadth and depth of the impact of architecture on the lives of the people of here.

The Liam McCormick Award continues to be the ultimate prize but the categories this year are:

  • Best Social Housing Project 2016
  • Best Private Housing Development 2016
  • Best Single House or Extension 2016
  • Best Public Building 2016
  • Best Public Space 2016
  • Best Cultural Project 2016
  • Best Commercial Project 2016
  • Best Conservation of Built Heritage 2016
  • Best Project Outside Northern Ireland 2016
  • Regeneration Award 2016
  • Sustainability Award 2016
  • Integration of Art Award 2016

In recognition of the difficulty in judging projects with wide ranging budgets and in recognition of the large number of RSUA members undertaking smaller projects in these areas, the following categories will have a small project winner and major project winner

  • Best Single House or Extension 2016
  • Best Public Building 2016
  • Best Commercial Project 2016

Enter the awards

To enter the awards just fill in the Entry Form by 19th February 2016 outlining the categories you will be going for and then submit your full entry by 11th March 2016.

Click here to view the Information for Entrants and the Entry Form.

The standard entry fee is £100 + VAT but is reduced to £70+VAT for smaller projects submitted in the three categories listed above.

What next?

If you haven’t entered the awards before and you want to get an idea of what a submission looks like you can browse the Awards 2014 website at

You can also put 26 May 2016 in your diary. That is the night when the winners of the RSUA Design Awards 2016 will be revealed at a gala evening in the Waterfront Hall.