REMINDER: RSUA Design Awards 2019 – Deadline 21st February 2019

Carpe Diem

This is your reminder that the deadline for your online submission to the RSUA Design Awards 2019 is 21st February 2019.  If you haven’t entered your much-loved project yet then today is the perfect day to start.  Time is ticking…


This is the second year of the alignment between the RSUA and RIBA awards.  Our partnership with RIBA means that RSUA Awards will double up as the RIBA Northern Ireland Awards. Winning an RSUA Award is now the first step to being considered for a UK-wide RIBA Award.

Award Categories

When entering the Awards this year you don’t have to enter your project into a specific category. Regardless of project type or value, all entries will be considered for a headline award simply called an RSUA Design Award 2019.

Projects that win an RSUA Design Award 2019 will be in the running to win the Liam McCormick Prize – Northern Ireland’s building of the year and will be considered for a RIBA National Award. The judges may also give the following discretionary awards:

  • Conservation Award
  • Project Architect of the Year
  • Client of the Year
  • Small Project of the Year
  • Sustainability Award
  • House of the Year
  • Housing Development of the Year
  • Integration of Art Award
  • Living Places Award


To be eligible for an RSUA Design Award 2019 projects must be in Northern Ireland and have been completed between 1st November 2016 and 1st February 2019.

Entry fees

The entry fee depends on the value of the project and ranges from £95 to £710. Full details can be found via the link to enter the awards below.

Entry Deadlines

The deadline to enter the awards is 23:59 on 21st February 2018.

Enter the Awards

The entry process for the RSUA Design Awards 2019 will be completely online via the RIBA’s Awards portal. Click here to find out full details of the entry process and to start your submission.

Gala Evening

The Gala Evening for the Awards is traditionally one of the highlights of the year and an occasion not to be missed. It will be held on Friday 17th May 2019 at the Ulster Museum, Belfast. This building – a rare example of 20th-century architecture of international repute – was designed by the London office of Francis Pym from 1963 with the integral assistance of Portaferry man Paddy Lawson. The extension went on to win a RIBA award in 1972.