RSUA Awards 2022 – enter now!

The 2022 RSUA Awards are now officially open for nominations. The primary purpose of the Awards is to promote excellence in the design of our built environment with the aim of making Northern Ireland a better place for everyone.

The deadline to enter the awards is 13 January 2022. The entry process for the RSUA Design Awards 2022 will be completely online via the RIBA’s Awards portal.

The Gala Evening for the Awards is traditionally one of the highlights of the year and an occasion not to be missed. It will be held in April 2022.

RIBA / RSUA Partnership

Our partnership with RIBA means that RSUA Awards double up as the RIBA Northern Ireland Awards. Winning an RSUA Award is now the first step to being considered for a UK-wide RIBA Award. The big change this year for the Awards is that only projects that have been in use for at least one year can be entered.

What are the categories?

Regardless of project type or value, all entries will be considered for a headline award simply called an RSUA Design Award 2022.

Projects that win an RSUA Design Award 2022 will be in the running to win the Liam McCormick Prize – Northern Ireland’s building of the year and will be considered for a RIBA National Award. The judges may also give the following discretionary awards: 

– Conservation Award
– Project Architect of the Year
– Client of the Year
– Small Project of the Year
– Sustainability Award
– House of the Year
– Housing Development of the Year
– Integration of Art Award
– Living Places Award

Who can enter? And how much does it cost?

To be eligible for an RSUA Design Award 2022 projects must be in Northern Ireland and have been completed between 1 October 2018 and 1 December 2020 and occupied by December 2020. The entry fee for small projects can be as low as £98 + VAT but for projects over £20m it can be as high as £731 + VAT. Full details can be found via the link to enter the awards below.