RSUA Design Awards 2019

Call for Entries 2019

You are invited to enter the RSUA Design Awards 2019. The primary purpose of the Awards is to promote excellence in the design of our built environment with the aim of making Northern Ireland a better place for everyone.


This is the second year of the alignment between the RSUA and RIBA awards.  Our partnership with RIBA means that RSUA Awards will double up as the RIBA Northern Ireland Awards. Winning an RSUA Award is now the first step to being considered for a UK-wide RIBA Award.

Award Categories

When entering the Awards this year you don’t have to enter your project into a specific category. Regardless of project type or value, all entries will be considered for a headline award simply called an RSUA Design Award 2019.

Projects that win an RSUA Design Award 2019 will be in the running to win the Liam McCormick Prize – Northern Ireland’s building of the year and will be considered for a RIBA National Award. The judges may also give the following discretionary awards:

  • Conservation Award
  • Project Architect of the Year
  • Client of the Year
  • Small Project of the Year
  • Sustainability Award
  • House of the Year
  • Housing Development of the Year
  • Integration of Art Award
  • Living Places Award


To be eligible for an RSUA Design Award 2019 projects must be in Northern Ireland and have been completed between 1 November 2016 and 1 February 2019.

Entry fees

The entry fee for small projects can be as low as £85.50 but for projects over £20m it can be as high as £710. Full details can be found via the link to enter the awards below.

Entry Deadlines

The deadline to enter the awards is 21 February 2019 but you can save money by getting in early. Discounted fees are available for entries submitted by 7 February 2019.

Enter the Awards

The entry process for the RSUA Design Awards 2019 will be completely online via the RIBA’s Awards portal. Click here to find out full details of the entry process and to start your submission.

Gala Evening

The Gala Evening for the Awards is traditionally one of the highlights of the year and an occasion not to be missed. It will be held on Friday 17th May 2019 at the Ulster Museum, Belfast. This building – a rare example of 20th-century architecture of international repute – was designed by the London office of Francis Pym from 1963 with the integral assistance of Portaferry man Paddy Lawson. The extension went on to win a RIBA award in 1972.