Ten projects shortlisted for RSUA Design Awards 2020


Out of 27 projects that were entered for the RSUA Design Awards in 2020, ten have been shortlisted for further consideration for an award. Throughout March all shortlisted schemes will be visited by the judging panel. The winners of this year’s RSUA Design Awards will be announced at a ceremony on Thursday 14 May 2020 at the Ulster Hall in Belfast. Images are available on the RSUA Facebook Page.

The buildings that have been shortlisted are:

Project name Location Architect
Rathview Mental Health Unit Omagh TODD Architects
Patrick Bradley Architects Studio Maghera Patrick Bradley Architects
Hillsborough Castle and Gardens Visitor Facilities Hillsborough Consarc Design Group
Carrickfergus Castle Roof Replacement Carrickfergus Alastair Coey Architects and Kennedy Fitzgerald Architects
Acute Mental Health Inpatient Centre Belfast RPP Architects, Richard Murphy Architects, Devereux Architects
School of Biological Sciences, QUB Belfast Scott Tallon Walker Architects and White Ink Architects
Davagh Observatory Cookstown ARCEN
Old Mill Court Sion Mills GM Design Associates
The Lanyon Building Conservation and Restoration Project Belfast Consarc Design Group
FLIPHOUSE Bangor BGA Architects

The RSUA Design Awards 2020 judges are:

• RIBA appointed judge (architect from GB): Simon Henley, Director, Henley Halebrown Architects, London
• RSUA appointed judge (architect from NI): Mervyn Black, Member of RSUA Design Quality Panel and former President of RSUA
• RIAI appointed judge (architect from RoI): Fionnuala May, County Architect, Fingal County Council and former Vice President of RIAI
• RSUA appointed lay judge: Marie-Louise Muir, Arts Producer/Presenter, BBC
• Conservation Advisor: Brian Quinn, Chair of RSUA Conservation Committee
• Sustainability Advisor: Dominic Morris, Chair of RSUA Climate Emergency Committee