Women in Architecture

On Thursday 26 June 2019, RSUA Women in Architecture was launched to provide support and inspire women working as architects and women aspiring to work as architects.  Aisling Shannon Rusk will lead the Women in Architecture sub-group and it is intended that the group will provide a network for women architects to share their experiences, learn from and support each other.

Women in Architecture Chair, Aisling Shannon-Rusk aisling@studioidir.com.

Headline purpose

To support and inspire women working as architects and women aspiring to work as architects.  

How will this purpose be achieved
  • Provide a network for women architects to share their experiences, learn from and support each other
  • Celebrate women in architecture and enhance their visibility, including promoting female role models, for example through an online presence 
  • Identify barriers faced by women who want to work in architecture and focus on proposals to remove those barriers
  • Facilitate mentoring opportunities for women architects
  • Develop proposals, for employers and employees, that will help anyone seeking to return to work as an architect following a career break
  • Engage with other relevant working groups 
  • Host events led by women architects but open to all 
Public benefit

A more gender-balanced and diverse architectural profession will be better at attracting and retaining the best talent leading to better architecture for the public in Northern Ireland. 

Membership and contact details

NameOrganisationEmail Address
Anne BarnesAnne Barnes Architectbarnesanne47@gmail.com
Rachel BevanRachel Bevan Architectsbevanarchitects@btconnect.com
Catherine BlaneyQueen’s University Belfastc.blaney@qub.ac.uk
Sarah BradyHLM Architectssarah.brady@hlmarchitects.com
Susie BrownHall McKnightsusiepatrick@live.co.uk
Laura Collinslauracinnamondcollins@gmail.com
Rachel DeLargyMcGonigle McGrathrachel@mcgoniglemcgrath.com
Sarah DevlinWhite InkSdevlin37@qub.ac.uk
Kathryn DowseHLM ArchitectsKathryn.Dowse@hlmarchitects.com
Catherine DoyleSamuel Stevenson & Sonscatherine.doyle@samuel-stevenson.co.uk
Tara FlorenceHamilton Architectstara.florence@hamiltonarchitects.co.uk
Aine GlackinWhite Inkaine@whiteink.co.uk
Glenda HallEducation AuthorityGlenda.Hall@eani.org.uk
Jennifer HarperIsherwood & EllisJ.harper@isherwood-ellis.com
Lara HigginsonLike ArchitectsLara@likearchitects.co.uk
Jennifer JohnstonFarrans Constructionjjohnston1@farrans.com
Sarah LappinQueen’s University Belfasts.lappin@qub.ac.uk
Jane LamourArigho Larmour Wheeler Architectsjane@alwarchitects.com
Bronagh LynchConsarc DesignBronagh.Lynch@consarc-design.co.uk
Aisling MaddenWhite Inkamadden08@qub.ac.uk
Catherine MallonMcGurk Architectscatzo_mallon1@hotmail.com
Joan McCoyWhite Inkjoan@whiteink.co.uk
Rachel McCurryWhite Inkrachel@whiteink.co.uk
Aine McEnoyMcGonigle McGrathaine@mcgoniglemcgrath.com
Aoife McGeeMMAS Architectsaoife.nicaoidh@hotmail.com
Sarah McGonigleWhite Inksarah@whiteink.co.uk
Mary McIntyreWomen in Planningmarymac102@aol.com
Emma MontgomeryIsherwood & EllisE.Montgomery@isherwood-ellis.com
Johann MuldoonManor Architectsjohann@manorarchitects.com
Clare MulhollandQueen’s University Belfastclaremulholland10@gmail.com
Martina MurphyUlster Universitym.murphy@ulster.ac.uk
Alice NickellMcGonigle McGrathalice@mcgoniglemcgrath.com
Melanie O’ReillyMelanie O’Reilly Architectmelanieoreilly@hotmail.com
Fiona PattersonMcAdam Design
Aislinn QuinnRPP Architectsaislinnquinn@rpparchitects.co.uk
Susan RaffertyPovall Worthingtonsusan@studiovericat.com
Jane RogersQueen’s University Belfastj.rogers@qub.ac.uk
Aisling Shannon-RuskStudio Idiraisling@studioidir.com
Naomi SheenanFCB StudiosNaomi.Sheehan@fcbstudios.com
Kari SimpsonTODD Architectskari.simpson@toddarch.co.uk
Hana StolcovahWhittaker and Watt Architectshstolcova@wwarch.co.uk
Katie StringerStudio Idirkatie@studioidir.com
Meeting frequency/pre-arranged dates

We anticipate this group will meet 5 times per year. Once it is safe to do so, we also hope to organise seasonal open studio visits across Northern Ireland hosted by female architects.

  • 12.30pm on Tuesday 29 September 2020
  • 9am on Friday 26 February 2021
  • 7.30pm on Tuesday 29 June 2021
Find out more

Read some of the latest updates and relevant news articles relating to RSUA Women in Architecture here

RSUA Women in Architecture meet for the first time

RSUA Women in Architecture Practice Visit to Caroline Dickson Architects 23 October 2019

Six by Six: Routes Through Architecture 22 November 2019

RSUA Women in Architecture update 29 September 2020

Architects Journal recognises emerging local talent 13 January 2021

Women in Architecture update 26 February 2021